for everybody who loves clothes but does not take trends so serious

An Icon: Veruschka

In ART, Iconic Woman on January 14, 2013 at 9:37 am

I’m reading a book by Veruschka, named like her, VERUSCHKA. For everybody who doesn’t know who she is ( is there anybody who doesn’t know her?), we could say that she was the first german supermodel at a time supermodels did not exist. Together with Twiggy, Jean Shrimpton or teenager Penelope Tree, she was one of the first girls who could make incredible amounts of money with modeling, still a new phenomenon at the time.

Here a picture of my book (you can buy it on Amazon if you’re interested) I highly recommend it to everyone because it’s not a supermodel book full of pictures by great professionals, it’s about a life that hasn’t ended yet. The book tells you many of Veruscka’s experiences she had during her childhood, youth and adult life, professional buy also very private events that help you understand her creativity, where it comes from and how Veruschka did invent and reinvent herself many times. I’m sure you will enjoy it very much. Sadly it just exists in german at the moment.

Verushka

Verushka

Here you got the link, if you like to see some pictures from inside the book publishing house, preview

I heard her say in an interview on TV, that she rather used fashion to do what she wanted. Something like “How do I  make enough money to do what i want, still doing what I like?”. She really feels that fashion was not her business, but she used it to be an artist. I’m glad she made the choices she made, because she leaves us incredible pictures and plenty of work we can be inspired by.

Here you have me in front of pictures of Verushka, it’s an article about her life I found in a newspaper, now it’s on my wall!! Just an excuse to show you my make up with my favourite wool dress you already know, I felt very comfortable and pretty. It was just before I went out for dinner two evenings ago.

Gesellschaft, article about Veruschka

FAZ-newspaper, article about Veruschka

This is a picture of Veruschka in Brazil in the late 60', and a portrait by Richard Avedon

This is a picture of Veruschka in Brazil in the late 60′, and a portrait by Richard Avedon

I could have changed in to an elegant dress, but did feel confortable that way, if you feel confortable you feel confident and wonderful!!

I could have changed in to an elegant dress, but did feel confortable that way, if you feel confortable you feel confident and wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

